I Call My Hand Gentle

As the year starts we teach basic rules to help children be safer and happier in their interactions. They tried so hard today to listen. One of my main ideas this second day of working together is we learn from our mistakes. And I’m really impressed with the idea that we can speak in affirmation. Instead of “Don’t hit”, and believe me that matters, I read a book today that talked about ways we can use our hands.

The book is delightful. It is called, “I Call My Hand Gentle.”

It suggests lovely ways to use our hands. In fact what I really think it does with primary children is take the hand and open and calm it. I had them try butterfly hugs. Lots of hand ideas including some cool shadows.

So then the children traced their hands and made designs. I called each child over to tell me an idea of how we can use our hands. They had nice ideas. I think I’ll show these very, very early images as there is a long road to go.

So the funniest part was watching them trace their hands. I got loads of two right or two left. I use this to see if they can cut, to watch their “handiedness.” Just to watch how they are thinking.

Here is what they said, minus names, we need to make up our pen names…..and maybe this year I can find ways to get them blogging on their own pages. They are very young.

Very!

A…”I can help my mom with my hands.”
E said, ” I can put them on the wall.”
E said, “I can go play with my brother and use my hands on the bicycle. We can spin if my hands are good.

My brother can jump on my back. We can play.”
G, ” I can hold an apple to eat.”
M, ” I can use my hands to play.”
S, ” I can make polka dots and rainbows with my hands and crayons.”
A, ” I can hug my mom with my hands.”
L, ” I can work and help my Mom with my hands.”
E said ” I can drink with my hands.
M said, ” I can pick a flower with my hands.”
D said, ” I could touch and use a pencil.”
O said, ” I could make art.”
J, ” I could pet a dog with my hands.”
K, ” I could make cookies.”
S, ” I can hold my bike and go, go, go.”
E, ” I can play with toys.”
C, ” I can do sports with my hands.”

3 Comments

Filed under 1st grade, Art, Class Daily News, Class Rules, Funny things, Joy, Kid Voices, literature, Project

3 responses to “I Call My Hand Gentle

  1. Amanda Haan

    I am the writer of “I Call My Hand Gentle”. I am thrilled at how it has integrated into your curriculum. Thank you so much for explaining it in your blog – ah the internet, the greatest technology of our time!
    Best,
    Amanda

  2. I love your book.
    I just cleaned up my books for the year getting ready for teaching a Pre-K and set this out to use. I certainly look forward to it in the start of my first in the fall. I just love it. This year, this class, really needed this message.
    Beautiful work, profound content.

    • Caren

      I just found this book today. The 6th grade writing classes are going to use it for a read aloud. I like your writing idea… we are going to trace hands also, but students will write good things they will do and a pledge to do not do negative things.

      Love the colorful book!

Leave a comment