Daily Archives: February 25, 2012

Our Neighborhood Solar Systems

Off in Space

One of the delightful parts of third grade is the curriculum in science asks you to introduce the solar system.
So we had a guest speaker-my daughter.
Sylvia reinforced lessons we had started on the planets-with my usual repertoire of The Magic School Bus and every You Tube I could find-and there are wonderful ones.
It was fun to here the children ask her if SHE was Ms. Frizzle or a scientist and be able to say, “Yes.”

So the children cut out, colored, discussed and made these neighborhood solar systems, many displaying they do remember basics we’ve been learning, lots of the kids said spontaneously, “This is the best day ever,” or, “We love to learn like this,”
meaning making models, assembling, thinking where things belonged.
Monday we are making this,
https://i0.wp.com/mplsstartribune.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/moon-phases-for-kids1.jpg

I found this on-line, it’s genius and I don’t know who to credit.
I’m just struggling to get my girls to volunteer to help me make those wonderful Earth cupcakes.

a

I found several sites that look good for my students.

Windows To The Universe

Mrs. Bunsey’s Solar System Links

A Solar System Link’s to Pics Page

I just love this one….A Trip Through Our Solar System
An Internet Scavenger Hunt

And I liked Kid’s Astronomy.com

So these sites will be our links for next week. As we talk about the phases of the moon, and generally expand our awareness of our place in space.

3 Comments

Filed under Solar System, Uncategorized